Epica is a Dutch symphonic metal band founded by guitarist and vocalist Mark Jansen in 2002 subsequent to his departure from After Forever. Mark Jansen had left After Forever to pursue his own dreams and found that guitar player Ad Sluijter, bass player Yves Huts, and keyboard and piano player Coen Janssen shared his vision. Drummer Jeroen Simons and singer Simone Simons completed the band. The band name is derived from an album of Kamelot, of whom several band members are big fans. Musically, Epica stands out by not only taking influences from the world of rock and symphonic metal, but also from film music as composed by the likes of Danny Elfman and Hans Zimmer.

Current Members

• Simone Simons - mezzo-soprano vocals
• Mark Jansen - rhythm guitar, grunts, screams
• Isaac Delahaye - lead guitar
• Yves Huts - bass guitar
• Coen Janssen - synthesizer, piano
• Ariën van Weesenbeek - drums, grunts, spoken words